RSS Feed

Day 2: Scrapbook Flower Canvas Art

My daughter’s room has been a project in the making… and thanks to Pinterest, we’ve been having lots of fun creating art for her room together. I’m still trying to figure out her “exact” theme……. her idea is that a perfect room for her would be blue & glittery – filled with horses and flowers and butterflies and Harry Potter (my 7 year old is growing up and is experiencing her first “crush” on an actor…. blech, why can’t our little ones just stay little?)……… hmmmmmmmm……

Thanks to my brother-in-law, I learned that making a room glittery is as easy as painting and throwing handfuls of glitter on the wall. A glittery blue room is now checked off the list. And Ella is in sparkly heaven.

Now, for today…… to begin incorporating the rest of the ideas (somehow??) ….

Ella & I needed a project that would be simple to do together (Yep!, I LOVE Mommy/Daughter craft days) and of course, Pinterest delivered the perfect idea.

And here it is….. our  Masterpiece: Scrapbook Flower Canvas Art hanging on Ella’s glittery blue wall.

Here’s the beautiful inspirational canvas I found on Pinterest. http://itsdoable.squarespace.com/blog/2012/1/23/its-doablethe-flower-wall-art.html Thank you Crystal for your Pinterest inspiration!!

Both are perfectly lovely, huh? So, Ella and I followed Crystal’s instructions (well…. mostly!)We used a 20×20 canvas which we didn’t paint  (because Ella decided that she also wants lots of white in her room….. and the “decor” list  of  “wants” just keeps growing – argh….) and we used 4 different types of scrapbook paper. I also used a glue stick to lightly stick the papers to the canvas before applying modge podge. It worked wonderfully and I am in LOVE with how our creation turned out. Ella, my 7 year old sweetheart (most of the time- HA!),  cut out all the leaves by herself. And she also placed most of the leaves where she thought they looked best. We just hung it on her wall, and she’s already had 2 friends come over so that she can  show it off! Yep!, it’s THAT cute (at least in our opinion)….. I would love to hear your feedback!

Happy Pinning!,

Kirsten

About pin.create.enjoy

I'm Kirsten. wife.mom.pinner.creator. And boy, do I enjoy what I pin & create- The successes bring me joy. The complete & utter failures make me laugh. (well, usually... Unless I have a hungry family sitting at the table and my epic fail is what was supposed to be our dinner. Then It doesn't really bring me much joy & laughter....)

Leave a Reply

