RSS Feed

Day 6: Rainbow Cupcakes in honor of the Rain that I hope will soon be Falling….

Today the forecast called for rain. But, then again, so did yesterday’s weather report…..

and I fear those wonderful little droplets have passed us by…….

Here in Oklahoma, the weather seems to have a mind of its own. This California girl is beginning to realize that when they say it’s gonna rain, it probably won’t….. but on those days when they say we have a 20% chance, be sure to pack your umbrella, rain boots, and prepare the storm shelter ‘cuz it’s bound to get wild……

either way though- Rain or No Rain…. I wanted cupcakes. And I wanted cute ones. And I knew exactly which ones to make since I was in a

“Rainy State of Mind”.

Out of the pantry came the box of white cake mix (the picture shows yellow, but I used white and tossed it in the garbage before taking a picture… oops) , my food coloring,  my Kitchen Aid mixer and 6 little bowls.  I made the cake mix in the mixer and then divided it evenly into the small bowls. I followed the directions on the back of the McCormick assorted Food Coloring Drops and added color to each little bowl until I achieved the perfect shade of Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue & Purple. I filled two muffin tins with little paper cups (I didn’t just grease and pour into the muffin tins because I wanted the colors to be more vibrant when I peeled the cupcake liners off. The first time I made these I did not use the liners and so the cupcakes looked “tanish” on the sides and it was harder to see the whole rainbow effect.) I then took a teaspoon of each color and dropped them one by one into the paper cups (beginning with purple on the bottom). The colors weren’t swirled, they were just glopped into “sorta” layers.  I popped them into the preheated oven and prepared my cupcake Rainbow toppings.

Typically, I’m a “completely- made- from -scratch’ kinda girl, but honestly my daughter likes cupcakes just as much if they are made from a package as when I make them from flour, sugar, eggs, etc. And since they are for her (because oddly enough and you’d never know from looking at my oh-so-curvy physique, I DO NOT LIKE cake or cupcakes). I love making them… they make me happy decorating them…. but eating them? not so much….. I’ll save room for ice cream, or chocolate chip cookies, or pie, or……. (you get the point).

Anyway… back to the Rainbows.  In the dollar spot at Target I found Airheads (they look like long strips of Rainbows). I cut each one of those Rainbows into three pieces. First I cut off about 1/2  inch (and I ate… err…. gave Ella each of those little pieces as a treat), then I cut the remaining long strip in half. This was the perfect length to make a rainbow (I found that without cutting that little bit off, the rainbows were a bit too long and started sagging in the middle and if I cut it into thirds they were just a tad too short…). After removing the cupcakes from the oven and letting them cool slightly, I carefully peeled the cupcake liners off. I let the cupcakes finish their cooling on a wire rack.  I used White Frosting that I had ( minus it’s sprinkles) and placed the whole carton in a ziploc baggie.  I then took my kitchen scissors and snipped off the tip of the baggie so that I could create fluffly clouds on the tops of the cupcakes. Then slightly curving the airheads, I formed rainbows atop the clouds. I finished it all off with  perfect little clouds on the sides made out of the most miniature mini marshmallows I’ve ever seen (see above picture).

aren’t they the happiest, sweetest, yummiest looking cupcakes you’ve ever seen. whether it rains today or not is irrelevant around our house…. we’re gonna enjoy a rainbow no matter what!

And with that… the rain just started to fall, so we’re off to go dance in the sprinkles……,

Kirsten

ps…. I most definitely can’t take the credit for the idea for these beauties….You guessed it… another fabulous Pinterest find!!! Thanks Monica Joy & Gourmet Mom for the inspiration.

I found the rainbow cake idea here:http://www.tablespoon.com/recipes/double-rainbow-cupcakes-recipe/1/

and I found the adorable decorative inspiration here: http://monicajoy.tumblr.com/post/1264292112/late-post-but-i-finally-made-rainbow-cupcakes 

About pin.create.enjoy

I'm Kirsten. wife.mom.pinner.creator. And boy, do I enjoy what I pin & create- The successes bring me joy. The complete & utter failures make me laugh. (well, usually... Unless I have a hungry family sitting at the table and my epic fail is what was supposed to be our dinner. Then It doesn't really bring me much joy & laughter....)

Leave a Reply

