RSS Feed

Day 7: Art Party Invite

I love organizing parties.

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE organizing kids parties, especially when the child being celebrated is my daughter.

Her birthday is coming up soon and she has decided on an “Art Party” theme.

We have the most amazing art studio in town where they pre-sketch an image onto an individual canvas for each guest before the party begins. During the party, they teach each child  how to use different techniques to make their canvas a true masterpiece. At the end of the party, each child is sent home with their artwork. I am not sure who is more excited about the upcoming event…. my daughter or myself!!

In a couple of weeks (after the big day),  I will post all the birthday party pictures and Pinterest Inspired Ideas I use to make her 8th Birthday a success….. but first……

THE INVITATIONS!!!! I searched Pinterest for inspiration… found a basic idea and then created my own FUN version!!! Here it is:

I wanted an invitation that the parents could read and the kids could actually use to create! And I DID it!…… SUCCESS!!!

At Michael’s, I found “Magic Paint Posters” (see photo below) for $1.00 (that one pad was enough to make 12 invitations) and a package of 12 paintbrushes for $1.00 in the paint supply section. I already had large white envelopes and white cardstock at home. I drew a picture of a palette, scanned it into my computer and then used Word and the Paint program to fill in the party details. I printed the invite out onto the cardstock and then cut out the palette.  I then cut out the individual rectangle paints from the Magic Paint Poster. Unfortunately the rectangles were a little to large for the palette so I trimmed them down to squares. I then used a glue stick to attach the paint squares to the invite where I wanted them.

Do you see the little instructions located right above the paint colors? I cut out those instructions and also glued those onto the invitation so that the kids would know that these invites were to be used!!! FUN, huh? I used a hole puncher to punch holes so that I could insert a paintbrush. I also included a Poster so that the invited kids could have something to actually paint when they receive the invitation! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE how these invites turned out.

This is how they will look going into the envelopes ( I will be splattering the envelopes with paint after addressing but before mailing them out):

This is the “Pin”spiration that I found that helped give me the general idea & wording for the Art Party Invitation (Thanks http://catchmyparty.com/photos/175420):

Now I’m off to pin ideas to use as “Pin”spiration for  her birthday party! See ya tomorrow!!!

:-), Kirsten

About pin.create.enjoy

I'm Kirsten. wife.mom.pinner.creator. And boy, do I enjoy what I pin & create- The successes bring me joy. The complete & utter failures make me laugh. (well, usually... Unless I have a hungry family sitting at the table and my epic fail is what was supposed to be our dinner. Then It doesn't really bring me much joy & laughter....)

2 responses »

  1. Looking for ideas for my daughter’s 9th painting party … think I need to do something along these lines .. MY name is Kirsten & MY birthday is August 7th! Coincidence??? =)

    Reply
    • Kirsten, I am so sorry that I’m just replying! What fun coincidences :-)!!!!! Soooooo….. How did your daughters party turn out? I would love to hear all the details- if you made the invitations like these , I would really love to see your finished product!!! 🙂 have a great weekend Kirsten!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

